Cheap DIYs: Terrarium 

Money has been very tight in my household lately but I have been wanting some new home decor. I tried to take advantage of the Tax free weekend to possibly find some deals but the chaos was just overwhelming. I don’t have kids so it’s not very essential for me to shop.

So typical me went to pinterest and youtube for inspiration. The one thing I wanted for a while was a simple terrarium to put on my shelf. And so begins my research… Here is a summary of what I learned and how I made it:

First: Closed or open? There are two types of terrariums that have different levels of maintenance – closed & open. At first I wanted a closed terrarium in an pasta sauce jar because I learned that it has little to no maintenance. However, I had no clue what type of plant I wanted to have in there so I decided to choose a succulent which required an open container. Literally any glass container can be used for this project. These containers can range in any size and shape you like. Old pasta jars are great inexpensive choices that you probably already have lying around. I used an old, round glass candy bowl that wasn’t really being used and I removed the lid. We got it free from someone who didn’t want it anymore.

Second: Pick a plant. Succulents require more maintenance but its pretty simple. They prefer an open, arid environment and sunlight. Also, my parents had a lot of potted succulents growing on the balcony because they continuously just grow from its fallen leaves so they just let me use those. I cut a rosette from a ghost plant and used the extra soil they had. This makes it so much cheaper because it’s free! But if you are starting from scratch, Lowes (or any home and gardening store) had a section of various succulents. Their cheapest one that I saw was a little less than $4 which had a pack of four little succulents ready to be planted.

If you want a closed terrarium, plants like baby ferns would thrive more. You don’t have to water these as much and require very little sunlight. My parents also had some ferns but unfortunately they looked a little yellow and with my luck I probably would not be able to keep it alive…

Third: Collect the supplies to build. These may be the things you most likely will have to buy for this project. Every pin and site gave the same general list of required things to add to the terrarium to keep the plant alive:

  • Stones
  • Charcoal
  • Soil
  • Pebbles

You can also add moss and sand to the layers though not every terrarium required it. Moss can be used as a substitute for charcoal. For my terrarium, I used flat glass marbles, which I have a ton of, as my stone and pebble layers. Also, I currently don’t have access to charcoal so I have more marbles for the bottom stone layer. Its purpose is mainly for drainage when watering the plant. The charcoal is also used for drainage but it keeps the plant healthier and less smelly. I’m sure you can buy a small bag of stones at the dollar store for only $1. (The dollar store can be your best friend in this project!)

Last: Put it all together. In the container of your choice layer the stones, charcoal, and soil. Plant your chosen plant into the soil. Layer the pebbles around the plant. Then you’re done! For a little extra decoration, I added tiny bug ornaments.

A Little Dragonfly Friend

Water as needed and expose the plant to the amount of sun I mentioned earlier. Make sure the soil is not too wet or else it could kill the plant. I forgot where I read it but a rule I read about watering is to make sure the soil is wet then let it completely dry before watering again.

Final Terrarium

I am most definitely not an expert when it comes to gardening and plants (Partially the reason why I am a chemist and not a biologist). This was just a relaxing project that I wanted to do. Yes there was research involved but I want this plant to last. This can range from $0 to $15 depending on your resources and how intricate you want to go with the project. I recommend going to thrift stores, dollar stores, gardening stores, and looking for deals if you don’t want to break the bank.

Most of all: Have fun! Be creative!

10/10 Would make another

Sources:



Leave a comment